Town Democrats elect delegates to state convention

Town Democrats elect delegates to state convention

Nearly 60 Democrats in Arlington held a caucus Saturday morning, June 17, to elect delegates to the 2023 Massachusetts Democratic Convention. The caucus filled the function room of Donut Villa on Broadway. Before the caucus began, Governor Maura Healey spoke to the attendees, thanking Arlington for its support for her election last fall. Also speaking was Steve Kerrigan, newly elected chair of the Massachusetts Democratic Party, who encouraged Arlington Democrats to help elect Democrats in Massachusetts and across the country. State Senator Cindy Friedman introduced the speakers and welcomed attendees.

Elected as Arlington’s 13 delegates were Barbara Atkins, Robin Bergman, Lynn Bishop, Elinore Charlton, Maureen Crewe, William Gardiner, Guillermo Hamlin, Jennifer Litowski, Linda Magram, Pearl Morrison, Paul Schlichtman, Michael Watson, and Edward Witham Jr.

Chair Stephanie Swanson will serve as an ex officio delegate. Other Arlingtonians serving as ex officio delegates are Marlene Silva, who serves on the Democratic State Committee, as well as State Representative Sean Garballey and State Senator Cindy Friedman.

The 2023 Convention will take place in person on September 23 at the Tsongas Arena in Lowell, to discuss the critical issues facing the people of the Commonwealth and set an agenda for the party in the year ahead. (The convention is the same day as Arlington’s Town Day, one reason for the small number of delegates.)

For more information on the Arlington Democratic Town Committee, please contact Stephanie Swanson at 716-435-4153. For general information on the Convention, please contact the Massachusetts Democratic Party at 617-939-0800 or go to

Share this post